

# Council (Annual Meeting)

# Wednesday 15 May 2019 11.30 am Council Chamber, Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield, S1 2HH

The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend



### COUNCIL

### Wednesday 15 May 2019, at 11.30 am Council Chamber, Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield, S1 2HH

### The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend

#### MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

THE LORD MAYOR (Councillor Magid Magid) THE DEPUTY LORD MAYOR (Councillor Tony Downing)

				0,	
1	<i>Beauchief</i> & <i>Greenhill Ward</i> Simon Clement-Jones Bob Pullin Richard Shaw	10	<i>East Ecclesfield Ward</i> Andy Bainbridge Vic Bowden Moya O'Rourke	19	<i>Nether Edge &amp; Sharrow Ward</i> Peter Garbutt Jim Steinke Alison Teal
2	<i>Beighton Ward</i> Bob McCann Chris Rosling-Josephs Sophie Wilson	11	<i>Ecclesall Ward</i> Roger Davison Barbara Masters Shaffaq Mohammed	20	<i>Park &amp; Arbourthorne Ward</i> Julie Dore Ben Miskell Jack Scott
3	<i>Birley Ward</i> Denise Fox Bryan Lodge Karen McGowan	12	<i>Firth Park Ward</i> Abdul Khayum Alan Law Abtisam Mohamed	21	<i>Richmond Ward</i> Mike Drabble Dianne Hurst Peter Rippon
4	<i>Broomhill &amp; Sharrow Vale Ward</i> Angela Argenzio Michelle Cook Kaltum Rivers	13	<i>Fulwood Ward</i> Sue Alston Andrew Sangar Cliff Woodcraft	22	<i>Shiregreen &amp; Brightside Ward</i> Dawn Dale Peter Price Garry Weatherall
5	<i>Burngreave Ward</i> Jackie Drayton Talib Hussain Mark Jones	14	<i>Gleadless Valley Ward</i> Lewis Dagnall Cate McDonald Paul Turpin	23	<i>Southey Ward</i> Mike Chaplin Tony Damms Jayne Dunn
6	<i>City Ward</i> Douglas Johnson Ruth Mersereau Martin Phipps	15	<i>Graves Park Ward</i> Ian Auckland Sue Auckland Steve Ayris	24	<i>Stannington Ward</i> David Baker Penny Baker Vickie Priestley
7	<i>Crookes &amp; Crosspool Ward</i> Tim Huggan Mohammed Mahroof Anne Murphy	16	<i>Hillsborough Ward</i> Bob Johnson George Lindars-Hammond Josie Paszek	25	<i>Stocksbridge &amp; Upper Don Ward</i> Jack Clarkson Julie Grocutt Francyne Johnson
8	<i>Darnall Ward</i> Mazher Iqbal Mary Lea Zahira Naz	17	<i>Manor Castle Ward</i> Terry Fox Pat Midgley Sioned-Mair Richards	26	<i>Walkley Ward</i> Olivia Blake Ben Curran Neale Gibson
9	<i>Dore &amp; Totley Ward</i> Joe Otten Colin Ross Martin Smith	18	<i>Mosborough Ward</i> Tony Downing Kevin Oxley Gail Smith	27	<i>West Ecclesfield Ward</i> Alan Hooper Adam Hurst Mike Levery
				28	<i>Woodhouse Ward</i> Mick Rooney Jackie Satur

Paul Wood

John Mothersole

Chief Executive

Contact:

Paul Robinson, Democratic Services Tel: 0114 2734029 paul.robinson@sheffield.gov.uk

#### PUBLIC ACCESS TO THE MEETING

The Council is composed of 84 Councillors with one-third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to the residents of their Ward. The overriding duty of Councillors is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them

All Councillors meet together as the Council. Here Councillors decide the Council's overall policies and set the budget each year. The Council appoints the Leader and at its Annual Meeting will appoint Councillors to serve on its Committees. It also appoints representatives to serve on joint bodies and external organisations.

A copy of the agenda and reports is available on the Council's website at <u>www.sheffield.gov.uk</u>. You can also see the reports to be discussed at the meeting if you call at the First Point Reception, Town Hall, Pinstone Street entrance. The Reception is open between 9.00 am and 5.00 pm, Monday to Thursday and between 9.00 am and 4.45 pm. on Friday. You may not be allowed to see some reports because they contain confidential information. These items are usually marked \* on the agenda.

Members of the public have the right to ask questions or submit petitions to Council meetings and recording is allowed under the direction of the Chair. Please see the website or contact Democratic Services for further information regarding public questions and petitions and details of the Council's protocol on audio/visual recording and photography at council meetings.

Council meetings are normally open to the public but sometimes the Council may have to discuss an item in private. If this happens, you will be asked to leave. Any private items are normally left until last. If you would like to attend the meeting please report to the First Point Reception desk where you will be directed to the meeting room.

#### FACILITIES

There are public toilets available, with wheelchair access, on the ground floor of the Town Hall. Induction loop facilities are available in meeting rooms.

Access for people with mobility difficulties can be obtained through the ramp on the side to the main Town Hall entrance.

#### COUNCIL AGENDA 15 MAY 2019

#### Order of Business

#### 1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

- 2. TO ELECT A LORD MAYOR FOR THE MUNICIPAL YEAR 2019-20
- 3. TO MOVE A VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING LORD MAYOR

## 4. TO ELECT A DEPUTY LORD MAYOR FOR THE MUNICIPAL YEAR 2019-20

(NB The meeting will adjourn following the appointment of the Deputy Lord Mayor and reconvene at 2.00 p.m.)

## 5. TO APPOINT A LEADER OF THE COUNCIL FOR THE MUNICIPAL YEAR 2019-20

#### 6. TO RECEIVE NOTIFICATION OF CABINET & CABINET ADVISER APPOINTMENTS, THE LEADER'S SCHEME OF DELEGATION FOR THE DISCHARGE OF EXECUTIVE FUNCTIONS, AND SHADOW CABINET APPOINTMENTS FOR THE MUNICIPAL YEAR 2019-20

Report of the Chief Executive outlining the constitutional requirements regarding the discharge of Executive functions.

#### 7. ESTABLISHMENT OF COUNCIL COMMITTEES FOR THE MUNICIPAL YEAR 2019-20 AND APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO SERVE ON THOSE COMMITTEES

Report of the Chief Executive outlining the legal requirements to allocate seats on Council Committees to political groups on a politically proportionate basis.

# 8. APPOINTMENTS TO COUNCIL PANELS, GROUPS ETC AND TO EXTERNAL BODIES FOR 2019-20

To approve appointments in accordance with details to be circulated at the meeting.

## 9. ARRANGEMENTS FOR COUNCIL MEETINGS IN THE MUNICIPAL YEAR 2019-20

To agree a programme of meetings of the Council in the Municipal Year 2019-20 and the formula for the order in which Notices of Motion will be listed on the Council Summons.

Chief Executive

Dated this 7 day of May 2019

The next ordinary meeting of the Council will be held on 12 June 2019 at the Town Hall